Friday, October 16, 2009


From the Theatre League of South Florida:

The Sunshine State’s Silver Palm tree may be an endangered species but, to South Florida’s theatre community, it also epitomizes recognition for outstanding contributions to the South Florida Theatre Season. Fifteen individuals and companies will soon get bragging rights to this symbol of theatrical excellence when the 2008-09 Silver Palm Awards are given out on October 26th..

These awards, originally created for the South Florida Theatre Festival, will be presented this year at the Fesitval's closing night party on Monday, October 26th, at 7:30 PM, to be held at Revolution Live! in Fort Lauderdale.

The South Florida Theatre Festival runs from October 12th through the 26th, and highlights include the 24-Hour Theatre Project (at Actors' Playhouse, Oct. 12th), Free Night of Theatre (Oct. 15th), and the Silver Palm Award presentations (Oct. 26th.)

Two Remy Awards, given each year by the Theatre League of South Florida (SouthFloridaTheatre.Com), will also be presented the evening of October 26th. The party is free to Theatre League members and open to the public for a $20 donation to the non-profit organization. Closing night party reservations can be made by emailing

The Theatre League's Silver Palm Executive Committee considered 79 productions presented between September 1st, 2008 through August 31st, 2009, aided by an Advisory Council comprised of Christine Dolen (Miami Herald), Bill Hirschman (Sun-Sentinel), Jan Sjostrom (Palm Beach Daily News), Mary Damiano (Miami ArtZine.Com), Hap Erstein (Palm Beach ArtsPaper), John Lariviere (TalkinBroadway.Com), J.W. Arnold (South Florida Blade), and Skip Sheffield (Boca Raton News).

These awards are based on excellent contributions made during the theatre season in South Florida, and are representative of the large theatre community stretching over Miami-Dade, Broward and Palm Beach Counties.

Among the honorees this year are six actors, two producers, three directors, a musical director and a stage crew who worked in productions at Broward Stage Door Theatre, the Mosaic Theatre, The Promethean Theatre and the Women's Theatre Project in Broward County; Palm Beach Dramaworks, the Caldwell Theatre Company and Florida Stage in Palm Beach County; the New Theatre, GableStage and Actors' Playhouse in Miami-Dade County.

In addition to the 15 Silver Palm Awards, two other trophies will also be presented at the Festival's closing night party; the Theatre League's Remy Awards, given annually for Service to the Theatre League and for Pioneering in South Florida Theatre.

This year's Remy Awards go to:

Barry Steinman (Pioneer Award), a co-founder of the Theatre league, and

Antonio Amadeo (Service), an actor and former League Board member.

The 15 Silver Palm Awards honoring excellent work during the South Florida 2008-09 Theatre Season go to, in no particular order:

1) -- ANGIE RADOSH -- for her Outstanding Performances in SPEAKING ELEPHANT (Women's Theatre Project), and THE GLASS MENAGERIE (New Theatre.)

2) -- ISRAEL GARCIA -- for his Outstanding Performances in MAURITIUS (New Theatre), and THE TAMING OF THE SHREW (New Theatre)

3) -- BARBARA BRADSHAW -- for her Outstanding Performances in THE CHAIRS (Palm Beach Dramaworks), and DEAD MAN'S CELL PHONE (Mosaic Theatre.)

4) -- JOHN ARCHIE -- for his Outstanding Performances in RADIO GOLF (Mosaic Theatre), and THE WHIPPING MAN (Caldwell Theatre Company.)

5) -- GREGG WEINER -- for his Outstanding Performances in SPEED-THE-PLOW (GableStage), THE SEAFARER (Mosaic Theatre), and THE DUMB SHOW (The Promethean Theatre.)

6) -- MATTHEW WILLIAM CHIZEVER -- Outstanding New Talent, for his performances in CANNIBAL THE MUSICAL (The Promethean Theatre), and LA CAGE AUX FOLLES (Broward Stage Door Theatre.)

7) -- BARBARA STEIN -- Outstanding Producer, for 1776 and LES MISERABLES (both at Actors' Playhouse.)

8) -- CLIVE CHOLERTON -- Outstanding Direction, for VICES: A LOVE STORY and THE WHIPPING MAN (both at the Caldwell Theatre Company.)

9) -- MARGARET LEDFORD -- Outstanding Direction, for CANNIBAL THE MUSICAL, STILL THE RIVER RUNS, THE DUMB SHOW and THE BANALITY OF LOVE (all at The Promethean Theatre.)

10) -- BILL CASTELINO -- Outstanding Direction, for CAGNEY and SOME KIND OF WONDERFUL (both at Florida Stage.)

11) -- CHRISTOPHER MCGOVERN -- Outstanding Musical Direction, for CAGNEY and SOME KIND OF WONDERFUL (both at Florida Stage.)

12) -- STAGE MANAGER LARA KINZEL AND THE STAGE CREW at Palm Beach Dramaworks -- for their Outstanding Work changing the set of PRIVATE LIVES.

13) -- JOSEPH ADLER -- for his Outstanding Support of the South Florida Theatre Community; his Outstanding Support of the Theatre League and the Theatre Festival; his Consistent Outstanding Work at GableStage; and his Outstanding Commitment to an Educational Outreach Program in Miami-Dade County.

14) -- BECON TELEVISION -- for their Outstanding and On-going Support of Theatre in South Florida.

15) -- FLORIDA MEDIA NEWS -- for their Outstanding Support of the Theatre League and Local Theatre, as well as their Outstanding Dissemination of Local Theatre News state-wide.

1 comment:

  1. How can anyone take these awards seriously? An award for CHANGING THE SET? Not that I'm sure it wasn't one hell of a set change... but for the love of God, come on people. Maybe these Silver Palm people will nominate someone for Best Valet Parker, or Best Concession Stand Person next.