Wednesday, November 9, 2011

Press Release: Silver Palm Awards


To Be Presented at Theatre League Holiday Party Dec.5


November 8, 2011

FORT LAUDERDALE, FL -- The Silver Palm Awards committee – founded four years ago to honor theatrical excellence in South Florida – hasannounced that this year it will present the coveted award to 17 individuals, including two for direction of plays, two for playwriting and one for creating a memorable fighting sequence. Also among the honorees is Mosaic Theatre for its ensemble work in the 2011 production of The Irish Curse.

"The Silver Palm Awards are presented annually to those who've made an outstanding or unique contribution to the South Florida Theatre season," explained Silver Palm Awards Chairman Tony Finstrom. "There are no nominees, no winners or losers, and no limit to the number of citations given in any 'category,' though there really are no official categories."

Finstrom (a (playwright), TV personality Iris Acker and Press Club President Ron Levitt compose the Silver Palm committee, which receives recommendations from South Florida journalists and theatre critics before the final list of recipients is presented.

This year's Silver Palm Advisory Council consisted of Christine Dolen (Miami Herald), Bill Hirschman (, Hap Erstein(Palm Beach Post & Palm Beach ArtsPaper), John Lariviere(, J.W. Arnold (South Florida Gay News), Mary Damiano ( & South Florida Gay News), and Roger Martin (

Silver Palms have gone to some 45 individuals and/or groups during the previous three theatre seasons.

The awards presentation will, this year, be held at the annual Theatre League holiday party on Monday, Dec. 5th, at the Bimini Boatyard in Fort Lauderdale. The party is scheduled from 7:30 to 10:00 PM. The party is open to the public, but there is a $25 admission charge. Theatre League members attend free of charge. Call League Executive Director Andie Arthur for reservations – 954-557-0778.

2010-2011 Silver Palm Award recipients are:
  • Tim Bennett - Outstanding Set Design, for STUFF at Caldwell Theatre
  • Clay Cartland - Outstanding New Talent, for his performance in SONG OF THE LIVING DEAD at The Promethean Theatre
  • Marckenson Charles - for his Outstanding Performances in SUPERIOR DONUTS at GableStage, in A BEHANDING IN SPOKANE at GableStage, and in STUFF at Caldwell Theatre
  • David Cohen - Outstanding Musical Tracks, at Broward Stage Door
  • Dennis Creaghan - for his Outstanding Performances in A BEHANDING IN SPOKANE at GableStage, in FREUD'S LAST SESSION at Palm Beach Dramaworks, and in AUGUST: OSAGE COUNTY at Actors' Playhouse
  • Renata Eastlick - Outstanding New Talent, for her performances in KISS OF THE SPIDERWOMAN at Slow Burn Theatre Company, and ECLIPSED at Women's Theatre Project
  • Elvire Emanuelle - Outstanding New Talent, for her performance in ECLIPSED at Women's Theatre Project
  • Jeffrey D. Holmes - Outstanding Direction, for THE PILLOWMAN at Infinite Abyss
  • Paul Homza - Outstanding Fight choreography, for SUPERIOR DONUTS at GableStage
  • Michael Leeds - Outstanding Direction, for THE LIGHT IN THE PIAZZA at Broward Stage Door
  • Sean McClelland - Outstanding Set Design, for AUGUST: OSAGE COUNTY at Actors' Playhouse
  • Michael McKeever - Playwright, for his Outstanding New Work STUFF at Caldwell Theatre, and for his Outstanding New Work SOUTH BEACH BABYLON at Zoetic Stage
  • THE IRISH CURSE - Outstanding Ensemble of Actors at Mosaic Theatre -- (trophy goes to the producer, Richard Jay Simon), cast: Ken Clement, Ryan Didato, Todd Allen Durkin, Shane R. Tanner and Barry Tarallo, directed by Avi Hoffman
  • Deborah L. Sherman - for her Outstanding Performances in GOLDIE, MAX & MILK at Florida Stage, in NO EXIT at Naked Stage, and in THREE DAYS OF RAIN at The Promethean Theatre
  • David Michael Sirois - Playwright, for his Outstanding New Work THE BROTHERS BECKETT at Alliance Theatre Lab
  • Slow Burn Theatre Company, Boca Raton - Outstanding New Emerging Theatre Company
  • Karen Stephens - for her Outstanding Performances in BRIDGE & TUNNEL at Women's Theatre Project, in ECLIPSED at Women's Theatre Project, and in CLYBOURNE PARK at Caldwell Theatre

Congratulations to all the honorees!

No comments:

Post a Comment